# **Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences**

(Incorporated with limited liability)

Room 2403-08, 24/F, CC Wu Building

302-308 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong



PR/HKAES/27AGM

# President's Report (2019-2020) Ir Prof P C Ching

#### 1 New Fellows

At the 26<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held on 9<sup>th</sup> December 2019, two (2) new Fellows were elected, bringing the register of HKAES Fellows to 104. They were:

- (i) Ir Prof Christopher Y H Chao
- (ii) Prof Martin D F Wong

# 2 13th Guanghua Engineering Science and Technology Award

In late 2019 the Nomination Committee, chaired by IPP Prof Tim Tong, recommended a list of candidates to the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) for consideration of the Guanghua Engineering Science and Technology Award. We were advised by CAE, in October this year, that three candidates nominated by HKAES were selected as recipients of the Thirteenth Guanghua Engineering Science and Technology Award (第十三屆光華工程科技獎). They were Ir Prof Afonso Ngan, Prof Tao Xiaoming and Prof Michael Lyu.



President Ir Prof P C Ching,
Prof Michael Lyu,
Prof Tao Xiaoming,
Secretary Alfred Sit,
Ir Prof Alfonso Ngan, and
IPP Prof Tim Tong (L to R)
At the Academy Dinner
on 2<sup>nd</sup> Dec, Hong Kong Club

#### 3 HKAES Functions

# a. Council Meetings

Despite the changes of our meeting schedule in between outbreaks of COVID-19, there were 3 Council Meetings held during the 2019-2020 session:

99th Council Meeting (30th 2020)

100th Council Meeting (7th September 2020)

101st Council Meeting (2nd November 2020)

# b. New Fellows Welcome Dinner (30th June 2020)

HKAES newly elected Fellows 2019 Ir Prof Christopher Chao and Prof Martin Wong were formally inducted as HKAES Fellows after the sworn in and signing on the Roll Book. Later they were presented with the Fellow Certificates. Ir Prof Lui Chi Shing John, Fellow admitted in 2018, joined the Dinner as the Proposer to Prof Martin Wong. He also signed the Roll Book and received his certificate. This was also the first time that newly elected Fellows received their Fellow Certificate with frame.



New Fellows 2019 at the Welcome Dinner on 30th June 2020

#### c. Academy Dinner

An Academy Dinner was held on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2020 at the Hong Kong Club. The Guest of Honour was Ir The Hon Alfred Sit, Secretary for Innovation and Technology. He spoke on the topic of Innovation Hong Kong and there was lively dialog with fellows after his distinguished talk.



Ir The Hon Alfred Sit, Secretary for Innovation and Technology delivering his speech Innovation Hong Kong



Secretary Sit with President Ir Prof P C Ching, IPP Prof Tim Tong and Hon Sec Ir Dr Alex Chan

# 4 Community Education Centre in HKSTP

Hong Kong Academy of Sciences and HKAES jointly established the Community Education Centre in the Hong Kong Science and Technology Park. HKAES Council Members visited the Centre on 26<sup>th</sup> November. We were received by ASHK President Prof Lap-chee Tsui and their Secretariat team. Lots of fruitful exchanges were made on the running of the Centre including soliciting exhibits of engineering projects and researches of HKAES Fellows and engineering organisations, and the innovation and technological advancement landscape in Hong Kong.



Visit at the Community Education Centre



Exchanges on Innovation and Technology in HK

# 5 3rd Cohort of Distinguished Master, Accomplished Students

HKAES continued to support the 3<sup>rd</sup> cohort of the STEM promotion project. Fellows of HKAES, alongside with Fellows of ASHK and HKSI would be mentors of selected secondary school students for a mentoring duration of about 18 months prior to their DSE examinations. The 3<sup>rd</sup> cohort was planned to start by the end of 2020.

## 6 Recognitions and Awards of HKAES Fellows in 2020

- ➤ Ir Prof Alfonso Ngan received the 13th Guanghua Engineering Science & Technology Award
- Prof Kei-may Lau is the First Ever Woman Recipient of IET J.J. Thomson Medal for Electronics for her fundamental work in compound semiconductor materials and device physics
- Prof Raymond W. H. YEUNG received the 2021 IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal for exceptional contributions to information sciences, systems and technology.
- Ir Naeem Hussain and Ir Prof Charles Ng were elected as FEng.
- > Sir Gordon Wu and Prof Xu Yangsheng were elected 深圳经济特区建立 40 周年创新创业人物和先进模范人物.

#### 7 Concluding Remarks

2020 is a special year for all of us due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Our meetings, Academy Dinners and visit activities out of Hong Kong were seriously affected. We were fortunate to have accomplished key activities including induction of New Fellows elected in 2019, nomination of New Fellows 2020 and activities reported above. I am pleased to handover the President's Medallion to Ir Dr Otto Poon to lead the Academy from the Session 2020-2021. Thank you for your encouragement, trust and support for the past two years and I am sure you would continue to support Otto's team in the years to come.

Ir Prof P C Ching

64 mas 64

President

HKAES (2019-2020)